Work experience with Procter and Gamble

This term I began my year in industry with Procter and Gamble in Newcastle. I decided quite early on in 6.2 that I wanted a gap year, and the year in industry scheme, which pairs up students with companies across England, seemed like a really good opportunity. Not only have you the chance to work with engineering companies and science research labs, but you also gain a great deal of experience in living independently – a flat share being one of the hardest things to organise!

So far in my placement, I have been working at the Newcastle Innovation Centre with perfumes in powdered laundry detergent. It has been really interesting to see how research is co-ordinated and how experiments are run at such a large global company. I am currently running experiments in collaboration with my manager, and we are adapting them and designing new ones as the results come in. You are treated as if you were a post-university employee, and are given many responsibilities and jobs.

I am looking forward to seeing how my project develops, and hope to have produced some useful results by the end! I highly recommend the scheme to anyone interested in doing sciences at university. It has given me some real hands on experience in a scientific context, and also a clearer perspective on the course that I want to do at university afterwards.

By Joshua Grubb (6.2 leaver, 2014)


Bedales School is one of the UK’s top independent private co-education boarding schools. Bedales comprises three schools situated in Steep, near Petersfield, Hampshire: Dunannie (ages 3–8), Dunhurst (ages 8–13) and Bedales itself (ages 13–18). Established in 1893 Bedales School puts emphasis on the Arts, Sciences, voluntary service, pastoral care, and listening to students’ views. Bedales is acclaimed for its drama, theatre, art and music. The Headmaster is Keith Budge.

Leave a Reply

